The glamour of Grey Gardens

Photo from Tumblr

Photo from Tumblr

After seeing the HBO film several times, I recently sat down and watched the actual documentary Grey Gardens upon which the HBO film is based. I thoroughly enjoyed both, and was amazed at how accurate the movie was. If you haven’t seen it, I highly recommend it.

One simply cannot mention Grey Gardens and not be inspired by the wardrobe of Little Edie, from the turtlenecks, to the fur coat, and of course the omnipresent head scarf she wears. Little Edie’s style has influenced many a designer, including Marc Jacobs, who named a bag after her, to Phillip Lim, who created a whole collection inspired by her.

I recently purchased a black one piece bathing suit (my first since high school swim team!) and fell in love. Watching the infamous scene at the end of the documentary with Edie marching around in her one piece, turtleneck, headscarf, and stockings, I couldn’t help but be reminded of my own happy dance I did when trying my one piece on. Maybe this summer I’ll tote around an American flag and pretend I’m holed up in East Hampton, making sure I don’t wear red shoes on Thursdays. What do you think, chickens? 

one piece

Image from JCrew.com

Image from JCrew.com

Leave a Reply

