Punk’s Greatest Hits: Best of the Met Gala

Chaos to Couture–for this year’s Met Gala, it was clear who had actually read their invitation, I’m one of those people who gets disgruntled when people don’t dress up for Halloween, and I was disappointed about the amount of people who played with the theme with more than extra eyeliner and spikes last night. Thankfully, there were a few that did go all out, so without further ado here are my favorite 2013 Met Gala looks.

Miley definitely hits the mark in this Marc Jacobs mesh dress, and the hair is perfection.

Miley definitely hits the mark in this Marc Jacobs mesh dress, and the hair is perfection.

This was one of the first looks I saw from the red carpet, and I absolutely loved it. The red leather and metal dress is edgy and feels very current while still channeling the late 70's when the Punk movement was born.

This was one of the first looks I saw from the red carpet, and I absolutely loved it. The red leather and metal dress is edgy and feels very current while still channeling the late 70’s when the Punk movement was born.

Bergdorf's Linda Fargo may have been the most Punk, in a sea of platinum hair, Fargo took the extra step and styled her mane in a irreverence that would be wildly inappropriate anywhere else.

Bergdorf’s Linda Fargo may have been the most Punk, in a sea of platinum hair, Fargo took the extra step and styled her mane in a irreverence that would be wildly inappropriate anywhere else. The patent leather, chain embellished cross, and spiked Loubitons cement her as the Princess of Punk.

While Linda ran with the Punk theme, SJP took the Chaos to Couture theme literally, and I applaud her for that. Her mohawk fascinator (created by a Duchess fav) was totally unexpected yet flawless, and her pairing of the elegant ball gown with the punky-plaid thigh high boots was genius.
While Linda ran with the Punk theme, SJP took the Chaos to Couture theme literally, and I applaud her for that. Her mohawk fascinator (created by a Duchess fav) was totally unexpected yet flawless, and her pairing of the elegant ball gown with the punky-plaid thigh high boots was genius.

Studded Burberry, faux shaved head, and a recent nose-candy scandal. Nailed it.

Studded Burberry, faux shaved head, and a recent nose-candy scandal. Nailed it.

I love Nicole's style, its very boho chic which I love. The fact that Nicole died her hair gives her mad props in my book. Girl BROUGHT IT.

I love Nicole’s style, and the fact that she dyed her hair and subsequently made RiRi throw up deserves mad props in my book. Girl BROUGHT IT.

I will fully admit I am one of those for-no-reason-Hathaway haters but I loved how she took a risk. I will keep this in mind next awards season, Anne.

I will fully admit I am one of those for-no-reason-Hathaway haters but I loved how she took a risk. I will keep this in mind next awards season, Anne.

 

Images courtesy of Style.com and Ibtimes.com

 

One thought on “Punk’s Greatest Hits: Best of the Met Gala

  1. Hello there, I found your site by means of Google while searching for a comparable topic, your
    web site got here up, it seems to be good. I have bookmarked
    it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just changed into aware of your blog thru Google,
    and found that it is truly informative. I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll be grateful should you
    continue this in future. A lot of other folks can be benefited out
    of your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

