Glitter Shoes: A Love Story

Today I experienced a very sad day that occurs at least once in every woman’s life, I had to bid farewell to a pair of shoes. I wore said pair to work, and halfway through the day I realized that this would be our last time together. They weren’t supporting me like they once did, there were begins of a split, and pieces of them were elsewhere, namely a small pile of sequins under my desk.

I had known these shoes for a very, very long time, I met them in the Delia*s catalog (whEn thEir cOPy LoOkED LikE tHis) we’ve been through several years of retail together, but it just wasn’t working anymore. It was time to bid farewell.

In thinking about our relationship, I realized that this pair was the first of many in my adoration of glitter shoes. Going through my closet, I count six, on my wish list, two more. What continues to attract me to them? Is it their ability to add some glam to any boring outfit? Their surprising neutrality? When it comes down to it, I decided it’s because just looking at them makes me smile. Isn’t that what every woman wants?

ImageI gave myself the Coveteur treatment and photographed my collection of glitter shoes (L to R) Madewell, Nordstrom Rack, my former darling, Vince Camuto, TOMS
Leave a Reply

