Artsy Fartsy: Chicago Design Museum


One of the things I love most about living in Chicago is the amazing and accessible art scene. The city itself has an appreciation for art that rivals many other cities, featuring amazing public art throughout downtown, including the Picasso statue presiding over the Loop.  From the architecture to the fabulous museums, the Chicago art scene is always stimulating.

This evening I went and checked out the Chicago Design Museum in Block 37. An initiative of Pop Up Art Loop, this installation focuses on graphic design, including several interactive pieces. I also happened to attend on a night they had free wine and treats from Magnolia Bakery, which was an added bonus. It’s only open through June 30th, so next time you are heading to Zara or Anthro, head up to the third floor and check this awesome space out. Did I mention it’s free? Below are some snippets from things I particularly enjoyed, head there yourself to see the entire works!

Image

There is a piece revolving around tacos–do I need to convince you any more? 

IMG_2118

I was most drawn to Marian Bantjes, especially this poster that was somewhat of an infographic of the reach of the Grateful Dead, which featured my favorite band, Widespread Panic.

IMG_2120

Walking through the gift shop, I couldn’t help but notice the “Buy Less Shit” button. I need that reminder sometimes, but I thought it was counterintuitive to actually purchase it. 

smile booth staring 6.6.13

My friend LK and I enjoyed the Smile Booth, sadly, my topknot had already checked out for the day.

Leave a Reply

