Social Set

With the onset of NYFW, I thought it would be fun to share some of my favorite people to follow on social media. Along with my daily dose of R29, these are the people who I turn to for the most up to date fashion news, celeb style, and of course, the lastest and greatest on my Duchess. The thing I love most about these ladies don’t take themselves too seriously, which is what fashion is all about.

Amy O’Dell

Image

Photo courtesy of guestofaguest.com

Amy O’Dell is somewhat hard to keep track of, I first started reading her on The Cut, then at Buzzfeed (where she started Buzzfeed Fashion) and now she is the EIC of Cosmopolitan.com. At Buzzfeed, she started this excellent series about how various individuals broke into fashion, like the charming Mickey Boardman of Paper Magazine. Amy’s tweets are both satirical and spot on, she is a true tastemaker who describes herself on her Twitter bio as “Fashion blogger, not the kind that assumes you care about my clothes.” In case you need more proof, please see the photo above.  She isn’t overstyled or too trendy, she’s sort of “classic with a wink” Hello Miu Miu! Follow her on Twitter here.

Sasha Charnin Morrison

Image

I hate wearing pants too! Sasha, she’s #justlikeus

Photo courtesy of Twitter

I first found a kindred spirit in Sasha when I saw her feature on The Coveteur. I love the organized chaos of her home and her eye for off-beat colors for closet staples (see: hot pink Celine). As a formal stylist and current Fashion Director at US Weekly (the fashion is the only reason I even buy US Weekly), Sasha has an opinion on anything and everything celeb style. Her Instagram feed is always a treat, everything from throwbacks of Liza Minelli, to epic finds on shopping trips (everywhere from Century 21 to Bergdorfs), to my personal favorite, the day she wrote a pronunciation guide to designer names.  Follow her here on Twitter and here on Instagram.

Elizabeth Holmes

Image

Photo courtesy of wsj.com

Elizabeth Holmes is, as my mother would describe, “someone I would be friends with”. Simply put: she is adorable. Originally a political reporter for the WSJ, Holmes made the jump to lifestyle and fashion a few years ago, creating a fun, more accessible Journal with articles on things pertaining to the everywoman, like the redevelopment of Clinique’s iconic moisturizer or the beauty of carrying a smaller bag. She also hosts THIS videos on YouTube, with tutorials about wearing colorful eyeliner, or incorporating trends into your wardrobe. She was on my shortlist of people to follow during both the Royal Wedding and the birth of Prince George, her main focus, of course,  our Kate. In writing this post I came across her Tumblr, which nicely showcases pics, her articles, and her THIS videos. Follow Elizabeth on Twitter here, and Instagram here.

The Fug Girls (Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan)

Image

My sister turned me on to GoFugYourself.com several years ago, and ever since I’ve been hooked. Heather and Morgan’s website about celeb style (and it’s FUGliness) is side achingly funny, I almost lost it in my cube when I read their “Fabtrospective of Peter Gabriel’s Eyebrows” celebrating the tenth anniversary of The OC. The girls have a shared love of fabulous television (90210, Dynasty), a board on Pinterest entitled “Various Turban’s of Note”, and their tweets (usually including a word in CAPS, and always signed “m” or “h”) about Lilo as Liz Taylor got me through that movie. Did I mention they were also Royal Fanatics? (Morgan has the same copy of Tattler that I do…#soulmates). Follow the Fug Girls on Twitter here, Heather on Instagram (with bonus pics of her adorable twin sons), and Morgan on Instagram here.  Bonus: the are also doing amazing coverage of Fashion Week over on The Cut.

Who are your favorites to follow? Happy Fashion Week!

Leave a Reply

